Kitchener-Waterloo Association of REALTORS® elects new leaders

Kitchener-Waterloo Association of REALTORS® elects new leaders

KITCHENER-WATERLOO, ON (November 30, 2012) –– A new board of directors has been elected to govern the Kitchener-Waterloo Association of REALTORS® (KWAR) and Dietmar Sommerfeld, a Broker with CBRE Limited has been appointed president.

A Certified Commercial Investment Member (CCIM), Sommerfeld has been active in the Technology Triangle Real Estate Market for nearly 35 years.

In 2002 the KWAR recognized Sommerfeld’s contribution to the industry and community by awarding him the Claude E. Dubrick Realtor Merit Award.

Sommerfeld has served as a director of the association since 2006, and has presided over the KWAR’s Commercial Committee and served on a variety of committees and taskforces including Arbitration and Finance. From 2007-2010 he served as a director of the Ontario Commercial Council. For nine years he served on the City of Waterloo’s Committee of Adjustments, and was a member of the Northdale Special Project Committee. A dedicated volunteer, Sommerfeld currently serves on the Board at the Lutherwood Foundation.

“I am honoured to be elected as president of the KWAR,” said Sommerfeld. “Ours is a constantly evolving industry in an extremely dynamic community. I look forward to working with my colleagues to continue improving the services we provide to our membership”

Joining Sommerfeld as officers of the Association are 1st Vice President Lynn Bebenek of Team Realty K.W. Inc., 2nd Vice President Mark Wolle of Royal LePage Wolle Realty, Past President Sara Hill of Re/Max Twin City Realty Inc, and Executive Officer Bill Duce.

Returning as directors are Chris Kotseff of CBRE Limited, Brian Spall of Re/Max Twin City Inc. and Neil Strickler of Royal LePage Wolle Realty. Newly elected directors include Eric Klimstra of Royal LePage Grand Valley Realty, Darryl Watty of Coldwell Banker Peter Benninger Realty, and Charlotte Zawada of Re/Max Twin City Realty Inc.

Full Media Release